HOME
East Cape Baja Photo Gallery Slideshow 2012

VRBO Reviews & Guest Journal Entries
Thank you to all of our GREAT guests!

We had a great time at the Casas de Cortez. Loved the house and weather was excellent. Incredible view from the front deck and plenty of sun or shade. If the wind was blowing hard, we'd go to the courtyard behind the house that was protected from the winds and enjoy gazing at the lovely landscaping that Jose has done. Angelita helped us figure out how to get the satellite tv stations working. It was very relaxing to take a siesta in the hammock on the deck. We also had a fun snorkeling tour with the Sea Sport business next door. 3-30-13

Better than we were expecting! Beautiful views from the decks !!! We ate wonderful meals in town and the people were very friendly. Caught a nice fish right from our beach and cooked it up in our kitchen, it was great. Property was maintained beautifully and Angelitta and Jose are very nice people. my correspondence with Lisa was unmatched. She was most helpful as we had alot of questions. This was our 1st time to the area and we will definately be back. Thanks Lisa, although it was a little windy during our stay, we had a wonderful time. 3-4-13

My four friends and I travel every year to fishing locales, and it is RARE for a hotel, motel, house or any accommodation to live up to its online description. It's an absolute anomaly for a place to exceed it! Casa Grande does this. The pictures above truly cannot describe the absolute paradise that the two porches are. The fishing was horrible (bad weather+bad guide) while were down there, but this house RESCUED the trip. The view, again, is breath taking. The grounds are meticulous. The service is amazing. The stars are incredible (if you have the energy to stay up- it pairs perfectly with a Cuban cigar from Chapitos!). Angelita, the maid, was amazing! We couldn't tell if she was bored or just that caring, but she ended up coming everyday. What a very kind, kind lady. This house is worth every peso. Incredible. 7-24-12

We just returned from a 17 day stay in Casa Grande. We have been in this area for years and have in the past several years rented casas either managed by Lisa or owned by Lisa. Our stays have always been stressfree and relaxing. The casa grounds are wonderfully maintained by Jose ,who is a delight, and the casa is maintained by our good housekeeper Angelita.We will be returning in the future and will again stay in Casa Grande. 2-6-12

The Bisbee is over Fished hard for three days and had a lot of fun. Pulled the boat in front of the house. Barbequed steak dorado in the front yard, enjoyed all the peace and quiet at night. Fished north two days at 50 miles out, released many stripes. South last day and one hook up, Was a unanimous decision that our boat had the best of all places to stay. Filo, Dan, Doug and Dave, Thanks!

Arrived after our 2 1/2 day drive down from Three Rivers, CA. Was great to get out of the truck -- we were so rejuvenated when we saw the house, ocean, views, etc. An amazing place. Met some nice folks just down the road who live here 7 months out of the year. They took us all out to dinner one night. With the snorkeling, swimming, fishing, and kayaking we did not want to leave the house much. Did 2 day trips - one to the end -- Cabo -- so we can now say we drove it all :-) OUr boys, ages 13 and 8 loved it here too. They enjoyed the good video collection at night. This is just an amazing house. One of our best vacations ever. We plan to come back. The Schwarz's, Three Rivers, CA

Muchas gracias por la Casa Grande!! We had a sweet time, aren't ready to leave yet. No fish, but we never went fishing, so that's to be expected. Mucho sol, mucho nap-o, mostly just Baja-ing. ATV's up the arroyos, lots of great hidden treasures, water falls, oasis. A great time and glad to meet yet more of Angelita's family. Muchas Gracias the Diggins family, Menlo Park CA

Thank you, Thank you for sharing this most beautiful, relaxing home! It's wonderful that ther are places so new, so special to take you away. What a delight! Thanks, T & L, Santa Rosa CA

It's a blessing to be given an opportunity such as this. for everything, thank you. I've fallen in love with this place. Nothing could keep me from coming back here! Viva Nosotros. Viva Mexico! CB

What a wonderful place! Calafia has the best fresh OJ, try it! Las Palmas is great for drinks and a refresthing swim or hot tub, Rancho Buena Vista is old school and great, best pina colada I have ever tried - Have fun. Jen

Look forward to coming back! We are just ending our week stay here and had the best weather and the best vacation. We came with good friends and had good food, drink, conversations and beach walks! We are leaving with slight sunburns and lots of good memories of our trip. Would love to come back and stay here - the accommodations were great, enjoyed the hamock and the outdoor barbeques we had. The deck was outstanding enjoyued using it lots to watch the boats fish and a little shut eye in the lounge chairs. The Philleos, Leavenworth WA

Thank you for sharing your fantastic house with us! We had a relaxing , sunny, windy time and are sad to have to go. The kids - 7 of them from 5 mo. to 5 1/2 - love the patio - setting up the forts and games with towels and chairs. The adults loved the hammock, crisp ocean swims and pina coladas in the evening. Muchas gracias Angelita y Celia, the cook. Sara and Family, Portland OR

Are your knickers in a knot? Just come to this nest by the Sea of Cortez and unwind! I don't know how many years we have come here, but is always very enjoyable - our friends that have accompanied us are still friends after a week one learns much about people when you live with them. The way they play cards tells ALL! Chief is still reading the same book, keeps nodding off in the sun. Very demanding about food as well - there are 6 meals a day in this crowd - Restaurant Calafia fulfills our need for salsa and guacamole, local grocery, the ice. Made a trip to Costco in San Lucas for most victuals - Lotsa beach walks - picking up a few rocks to take home to flower bed. Must be a sign of age when one is satisfied to watch the sunrise, stare out at the sea and watch the sunset. We have all read a number of books but Ken the Cowboy has been the most controversial. Home has had snow all week but we are ready to go home and face it after the forticiation we have just ingested. Thanks much to Lisa and Greg, Jack Ass Mountain Ranch.

Thank you, Merci beaucoup, Gracias! Your casa with it's incredible view and sounds is magnificent. We will be returning to Canada with unforgettable memories.

Thank You! A dear friend Kevin suggested we come stay in your Casa. You see we wanted to come to the Baja for the culture, the adventure and mostly to relax. All were available and experienced. We thank you and Kevin for the opportunity. We brought our dear friends Todd and Kathy with us from Nebraska. Being farmers and never out of the US yet out of NE much they had a blast. Best part was watching their expression as the cows walked down the beach and the chickens ran accross roads in front of us. We will be back, already talking about our next trip and who might want to join us. Janelle and Troy, Beavercreek OR

Our trip was way too short! We had an amazing time relaxing and getting the authentic Mexican Experience. We went fishing with the locals (excellent Mahimahi) and loved our meal at the wood stove pizza place (Pesto Rocks!) We drove to La Paz and loved snorkeling! Thanks so much The Bumers and Brubakers

What a Beautiful Setting. Had a wonderful time. Already thinking how we can come back very soon. Weather was hot until Sunday when the sinds came but still sunny and warm. Enjoyed the courtyard area during the wind. Perfecto!! Bob and Shaun

Triathlon Camp with Sheila Taormina: If ever there was a place where everything was just perfect, it is here. This cannot be replicated and we are so thankful that you open your Mexico home to people. Many good blessings to everyone who is fortunate enough to spend a night under the Casas de Cortez stars! Oh my goodness, cannot begin to tell you how great everything has been during the 2 weeks + here. We had a fantastic camp....every woman who attended is in love with your place. We just finished filming another book project at Las Palmas......went way better than we could have hoped. So, thank you!!! That's all I have to say. 10/1/10

Best Time Ever! Beautiful sunrises on the East Cape! Great people, great food & lots of Tequila...Couldn't ask for more, will definitely be back! Nick & Natalie

Accurate! Guest: Jock I have stayed at this property twice within the last four years, and plan on visiting many more times. A great place to "chill" on the Sea of Cortez. Have rented just the front house and both houses with a larger group. The accommodation was great; was picked up and delivered to the airport (and taken on a couple of excursions that I requested) by their driver. I found the house (both houses) quite nice. And there's a good local roadside restaurant very near, but WARNING: I had a three-margarita lunch there one day, and soon found myself and A. back on the beach in front of the house, stripping naked and diving into the ocean. I lost my hearing aids and didn't even realize it until going to bed that night. The maid that takes care of the place took care of the housekeeping very well when I stayed there. THE BOTTOM LINE: A great place if you want the beach combing vacation with some nice amenities in terms of entertainment (a great hotel with a swim-up bar etc. is about a mile away) and some quiet towns a short driving distance away to explore and "do lunch." The houses are great, but not "flashy." They're really for a couple or group of friends who are relaxed, want the sun on a terrace or the beach, a good book, a cervaza and enjoy the beauty of that area. If you need a lot of action, glitzy surrounding and loud bars, or just what they call a "high maintenance individual, then stay in Cabo or Acapulco. But if you want to "chill" and "recharge," this place is great. But watch those three-margarita lunches! Recommended for:Romantic getaway, sightseeing, adventure seekers, girls getaway. 01/18/10

We love this house! Guest: Red Rock Gang (reno nv) We have stayed at this property several times and love everything about it! It is a great compound for families, and/or a group of friends as there are lots of private sleeping areas! Every time we have gone, Angelita has taken great care of us on a daily basis and the drivers and cooks that are available for hire are awesome too! I highlyy recommend this rental for any group, any age, any lifestyle, there is plenty to do if you want, and it's very easy to do nothing and have a ball as well! Recommended for:Romantic getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, adventure seekers, girls getaway, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers.

Paridise at the end of a dusty road!! Guest: Ron & Kathy (Philadelphia,PA.) Date of Stay: 01/16/12 Right on target! After almost 700 miles of traveling the Baja, with good friends,we were dusty & tired of uncomfortable beds on the road and its with warm thoughts that I look back as to when we 1st arrived at Cass De Cortez!! It was late afternoon when we found our way to BuenaVista, & casa de cortez was not difficult to find. At the gate,The care takers were waiting with a smile. We walked through the gardens & court yard towards the front of this amazing property, we were consumed with the jaw dropping beauty of the glistening Sea of Cortez at sunset! we couldn't take our eyes off the view. Pictures do not do justice. Everything else came easy. The large working kitchen was directly connected via a window to an outdoor seating area so you you didnt miss a beat.The sleeping arrangements, were clean, spacious, and all in good working order. The proximity to groceries and good food was nice but the friendliness of the owner, Lisa was unmatchable. Her suggestions for dinning, have become our favorite spot. The Hotel in Sanatoga, about 9 miles away, was the best. As fresh as fresh could be, Dinning in the middle of a garden was A wonderful experience. We Snorkeled right out front in the crystal clear water; Kayaked and fished without any luck, but I wasnt trying very hard; drove quads on the beach, flew kites, bird watched, bat ray watched, whale watched, and watched waves of dauphins go by. The care takers became friends; it was easy with the infectious smiles they carried all the time. All in All, Casa De Cortez has become one of the OWL families favorite hideouts, and would highly recommend to most travelers seeking a quite, peaceful, relaxing, vacation. We are planning to bring our grand kids. Looking forward to the next time we join our scout brothers & sisters their again for a little R&R in Paradise! Recommended for:Romantic getaway, people with disabilities, sightseeing, pet owners, adventure seekers, girls getaway, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers.

Our little secret in Baja Guest: "I catch big fish" Kelly (Carlsbad, CA) Date of Stay: 10/06/11 We've been staying at Casas De Cortez for the better part of 10 years now and have had amazing experiences each and every year. The beach, the sand, the people, the houses, the village all are great. The houses on this property are always clean and tidy, both inside and out. There is a full time landscaper on the property as well as an amazing maid. Both are trustworthy and hard workers. All rooms have air conditioning for the hot months, but many times the evenings are perfect and you can just sleep with the sliders open and the screens shut. The proximity to the ocean is great here, its like you have your own private beach. The fishing is world class with boats available near by. Lisa, the owner, is great to work with and is honest and trustworthy. Hopefully, if she is in the area for your trip, she will make some of her world famous fish soup for you! Recommended for:Romantic getaway, sightseeing, adventure seekers, girls getaway, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers.

Spring In Buena Vista Guest: Karen (Atlanta) Date of Stay: 04/01/10 My husband and I spent two months this spring in unit number 4 at Casas de Cortez. We couldn't be happier with the casa. It was plenty big for the two of us and the open living area is very comfortable. The staff was very attentive and accommodating and the proximity to the beach was awesome. The property sits on a hill over the beach and the sea can be seen from the patio. The weather was very pleasant with a sea breeze and we only need the air conditioning a few evenings. The beach is down a stairway and it is beautiful. Great for morning walks, and snorkeling. The beach is never crowded and most days we had the whole beach to ourselves. We tried most of the restaurants in Buena Vista and Los Barreles. The Hotel Calafia which is a short walk from the casa is excellent, and Tia's for breakfast is fantastic. Vista Sea Sports next door offers fishing, snorkeling, diving and kayaks. The are very accommodating We walked all around the area and were quite impressed with the friendliness of the all of the people we met. If you want to relax, slow down and enjoy a vacation we would highly recommend this casa. Recommended for:Romantic getaway, sightseeing, adventure seekers, girls getaway, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers.

What a magical place, with starlite skies and red skies at night - the dawn was just as magical, calm of the ocean nice warm breeze. We had beautiful weather - at night we would run down to the ocean and try to catch the phosphorus as it flowed through the waves. In memory of our daughter recently lost, we laughed and we cried and we talked and prayed and enjoyed to the fullest the peacefulness and serentiy of this lovely place - thank you. The Terry's, Lockeford, CA